Any thoughts appreciated

edited November 18 in Welcome & Orientation

Hi, This is my first time posting. I have stage 1C ovarian cancer. I have just had a full hystorectomy. Results came back clear on everything they cut out. Diagnosis was derived from the clear cell cancer in left ovary that burst during first surgery a few months prior to remove what was suspected to be a benign cyst. They now are talking chemo but I am yet to see an oncologist and have no idea what to expect, what drugs are for this type of cancer, whether I have a choice of drugs etc. Is anyone familiar with the genetic testing to determine the best 'match' of chemo drug/s?. Has anyone on this forum used complementary medicine whilst going through chemo to reduce side effects as well as to increase efficacy of chemo? Any experiences, information and thoughts are welcomed. Thanks.

Comments

• Hi Elly,

Welcome to the forum!  I'm sure that you are felling overwhelmed at the moment and I hope that my story may answer a couple of your questions.

My diagnosis, back in 2014, was not dissimilar to yours... stage 1c, clear cell carcinoma, found during surgery to remove mass and have hysterectomy, where everything was removed.  My maligancy was contained within a mass on  my left ovary too and had not spread anywhere else.  (Thank God!)

After recovery from the surgery, I had 18 weeks of adjunct chemotherapy, to clean up any nasty cells that may have escaped, and was given a combination of carboplatin and paclitaxel.  I was given reiki by family members during chemo... I guess that it helped because I can tell you that I did not experience too many side effects.  One of the "antirejection" meds gave me insomnia, so on chemo day, I would be awake for around 24 hours!  I did have a little bit of nausea and found that good old fashioned fruit tingle lollies helped heaps.  I lost probably 3/4's of my hair during treatment.. another lady I know used cold caps during her treatment and did not lose her hair.