Hello from Nicole

Hello everyone, I have enjoyed reading through the posts and think its about time I should introduce myself. I am 46 years old, maried, was full time employed as an office manager (still trying to do 3-4 days a week depending on how I am feeling), and mum to Jack 7 years. I was diagnosed in May this year with stage 3C ovarian cancer which has spread extensively to bowel, spots on liver, throughout the stomach lining and omentum.

I had been complaining of bowel irregularities for over 12 months and was seeing a naturopath for symptoms of suspected IBS...gee I wish I was better informed back then. I also saw a couple of doctors for similar symptoms and tried different fibre preparations, but in the end just put up with it and put it down to my very busy job and diet.

I have completed 9 weeks of chemo and am booked in next weekend for debulking surgery. There will be at least 9-12 weeks of chemo after surgery too. I have had many conversations with my gyn oncologist and he has made me aware of the possibility of a stoma after the surgery. He has explained that would most likely be for a 6 month period.

I have plenty of support from family and friends, for which I am very thankful and this has helped me to try to stay positive and supported, and they are there too for the down times too. It is just diffuiclut when they do not really understand what you are going through and the anxiety that comes with awaiting surgery or results etc.

I look forward to reading more of everyone elses expericence here and to be able to chat with others who really can understand what you are going through, cheers Nicole x

Comments

• Hi Nicole.

Many, many (((Hugs))) and only the very best wishes as you move to the next phase of your treatment.

Christine

• Hi Nicole,