Hello from Sara

My name is Sara Elkas and I am a 67 year old woman living with my same-sex partner of 22 years in Melbourne.  We have 9 grandchildren!  I was born in Israel and came to Australia in 1969.  I worked as an occupational therapist but retired in Dec 2014.

I was diagnosed with high grade serous stage 2b ovarian cancer in Oct 2013 not because I had the usual symptoms but as a result of a follow up investigation into a collapsed lung. I was referred to a gynaecological oncologist surgeon and had a debulking operation.  This was followed by 6 months of chemo.  Unfortunately the cancer recurred after 9 months.  At about  the same time I was diagnosed with the BRCA 1 gene mutation, an MRI showed very early breast cancer and in Jan 2015 I had a double mastectomy.  I underwent more chemo and was then put on the the targeted drug Olaparib on "compassionate grounds".  In early 2016 I had another recurrence and underwent surgery to remove 3 tumours - one was lodged in the bowel so I finished up with a stoma/colostomy bag.  I went through another 4 months of more chemo and also had minor surgery to remove hernia/scar tissue that was causing partial bowel obstruction.  My PET/CT scan in June were clear.  However around Sept-Oct the CA125 started rising and a CT scan showed spots on the liver.  My oncologist recommended a clinical trial with an immunotherapy-targeted drug.  I went through the screening tests and was about to have a liver biopsy when I had a phone call to say that I wasn't eligible because of having had breast cancer.